Ellie Engle Saves Herself by Leah Johnson (author)

Ellie Engle Saves Herself

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
usd prices
Price: $11.40 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.40 Switch to $
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets $2.28 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

In a small-town where nothing ever happens, prepare for something extraordinary! 12-year-old Ellie and her best friend Abby, live in the small-town of Plainsboro where nothing ever happens. Ellie is an unassuming and unspectacular comic book geek, and she idolises her best-friend Abby who is cool, chic and talented. But when a freak earthquake strikes the small town, Ellie learns that she has acquired an unimaginable power… And when a video of her power suddenly goes viral, Ellie is thrown into the spotlight, a place she does not want to be. An underdog story that will make you laugh, cry, and laugh all over again. From award-winning author Leah Johnson.

  • Perfect for fans of Miss Marvel, Smallsville and Amari and the Night Brothers.
  • A story about friendship and finding yourself.
  • By award winning author, Leah Johnson, this is a funny and magical middle-grade novel

Our May 2023 Ages 11+ Book of the Month

Our Book of the Month for age 11+ is Ellie Engle Saves Herself by Leah Johnson. 12-year-old Ellie is an unassuming comic book geek who lives in the small town of Plainsboro, where nothing ever happens. When a freak earthquake strikes the small town, Ellie learns that she has acquired an unimaginable power… And when a video of this power goes viral, Ellie is thrown into the spotlight, a place she does not want to be. In a small town where nothing ever happens, prepare for something extraordinary!

This underdog story will make you laugh, cry, and laugh all over again. Perfect for fans of Miss Marvel, Smallville, and Amari and the Night Brothers, this is an empowering book all about friendship and finding yourself. Leah Johnson is the award-winning author of YA novels You Should See Me in a Crown and Rise to the Sun, and this funny, magical story is her first for middle-grade readers. Ellie Engle Saves Herself is full of own-voices representation and told from a queer perspective.

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

467 in Global Primary May 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702313462

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

May 11th, 2023

Other details

  • 288 pages

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Leah Johnson

Photo of Leah Johnson

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought