The Funniest Boy in the World by Helen Rutter (author) (UK edition)

The Funniest Boy in the World

Suitable for 8 - 12 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

‘Fun, unstuffy and wise’ Sunday Times Children’s Book of the Week‘It will have your children in stitches!’ BBC Radio ManchesterThe laugh-out-loud, against-all-odds triumph of a sequel to one of the bestselling children’s debuts of 2021. Billy Plimpton took to the stage and captivated the crowd at the triumphant ending to The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh , and in the sequel, he’s going to go viral. Celebrity comedian Leo Leggett takes Billy under his wing, as his new sidekick: when Leo tweets a clip of his stand-up act, Billy suddenly becomes the most famous boy in the country. At first, this is GREAT – all the kids at school think he’s cool and he gets to appear on his favourite morning TV show. But Leo’s motives turn out to be shady and Billy must turn the tables in a very public way… The idea for this story came from Helen Rutter’s son, who has a stammer: she wanted to write the book that he would love to read, starring a child like him.

  • packed with brilliant jokes and one-liners to make kids roar with laughter
  • a book to encourage empathy and kindness in young readers
  • Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson and Jenny Pearson.

Praise for The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh

  • Winner of the Lollies Children’s Book Prize 2023
  • Shortlisted for the 2022 Blue Peter Book Award
  • Shortlisted for the 2022 Costa Children’s Book Award
  • Selected for the 2022 Read For Empathy Collection
‘Very funny, very touching, very truthful – a total delight to read.’Jacqueline Wilson ‘Amazing’ Noel Fielding ‘This incredible debut tugs at your heartstrings and makes you laugh out loud in equal measure. I guarantee you’ll be cheering along in the final pages!’ Lisa Thompson ‘It’s Wonder with one-liners.’ Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher ‘As warm and wise as it is funny.’ Shappi Khorsandi ‘A laugh out loud story, the like of which I’ve never read before.’ Kerry Godliman ‘This book is a great way of showing children how to be confident and winners by having a sense of humour and making others laugh.’ Baroness Floella Benjamin ‘This book is brilliant. It is funny, wise, kind and exciting.’ Marcus Brigstocke ‘So funny and joyful.’Rachel Parris

Our February 2023 Ages 11+ Book of the Month

For children aged 11+, our Book of the Month pick for February is The Funniest Boy in the World. Billy Plimpton captivated the world and now, he’s going viral! When celebrity comedian Leo Leggett takes Billy under his wing as his new sidekick, Billy suddenly becomes the most famous boy in the country. At first, this is GREAT – all the kids at school think he’s cool and he gets to appear on his favourite morning TV show. But when Leo’s motives turn out to be shady, Billy must stand up for himself and what is right.

This is the follow-up to author Helen Rutter’s debut The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh, which was the standout success of 2021 and Waterstone’s Book of the Month. Inspired by her own son who has a stammer, Rutter wanted to write a book that he would love to read and starred a child just like him. A touching, truthful, heartwarming and hilarious book that inspires confidence in all that read it. Her writing is perfect for fans of Lisa Thompson, Sam Copeland and David Baddiel.

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702314674

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

February 2nd, 2023

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.9; Middle years; 8.0 points

Other details

  • 360 pages

Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought