Suitable for 13 - 16 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

Longlisted for the Yoto Carnegie Medal

The Times’ Best Books for Children 2021

“How quickly teenagers fall apart – and how fast they can heal. This is the hopeful message from Sita Brahmachari, a writer who mixes verse and prose to tell stories that stick.” – Alex O’Connell, The Times

Kai, Orla and Zak grew up together, their days spent on the patch of wilderness in between their homes, a small green space in a sprawling grey city. Music, laughter and friendship bind them together and they have big plans for their future – until Kai’s family suffers a huge loss.

Trying to cope with his own grief, as well as watching it tear his family apart, Kai is drawn into a new and more dangerous crowd, until his dreams for the future are a distant memory. Excluded from school and retreating from his loved ones, it seems as though his path is set, his story foretold. Orla, Zak and new classmate Om are determined to help him find his way back. But are they too late?

A heart-breaking and poignant novel from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari, for fans of THE BLACK FLAMINGO, AND THE STARS WERE BURNING BRIGHTLY and POET X.

PRAISE FOR WHEN SHADOWS FALL:

“When Shadows Fall is an invitation to join a community at the heart of which is the tale of a young man gripped by tragedy and trauma. The book offers hope through mutual support and a focus in figuring out what really matters… I was moved and uplifted.” – Michael Rosen

“Full of empathy and hope … Kai’s story is a must read for teens to explore how easily things can fall apart but also how we can heal.” – A. M. Dassu, author of Boy, Everywhere

“A song of growing up, grief and the power of connection, When Shadows Fall is an illuminating and lyrical read” – Polly Ho-Yen, author of Boy in the Tower

“Beautifully told with real care, tenderness and heart” – Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird

“Sita’s lyrical prose captures the raw emotions of adolescence – of a young person navigating their way through grief and troubled times. A book for all of us.” – Gill Lewis, author of Swan Song

“A heart-wrenching story about loss and art and nature, about how things can fall apart and how friends stand beside one another no matter what” – Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of How to Change the World

“Empathetic, original, searingly sad in places, but full of hope, & the power of friendship, art, music, wild places, and ravens” – Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

“A gripping, tender, terrifying work… Impactful, innovative, and deeply moving.” – Sinead O’Hart, author of The Eye of the North

Product Details

ISBN

9781788956802

Publisher

Little Tiger

Date published

March 2nd, 2023

Other details

  • 352 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought