Suitable for 11 - 14 years

Format
Paperback
usd prices
Price: $11.10 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.20 Switch to $
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets $2.22 to spend on books

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

1 review (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

The magical bestseller: a classic story to read again and again

Winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize Winner of the British Book Awards Children’s Book of the Year Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize

Beautiful, thrilling and magical, Sunday Times bestselling-author Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s critically-acclaimed first novel is a modern classic.

‘Absolutely loved it from start to finish’ TOMFLETCHER

‘I read it, I loved it’ MALORIE BLACKMAN

‘Kiran Millwood Hargrave creates a spellbinding world of magic, myth and adventure’ EMMA CARROLL

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her cartographer father once mapped.

When her friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search. The world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland - and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a fire demon is stirring from its sleep.

Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

A beautifully written, multi award-winning story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic for any age – perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell

From the author of Julia and the Shark and The Mercies, chosen for the Richard & Judy Book Club

Set in an extensive and stunningly-imagined parallel world imbued with magical realism

A gorgeous gift with intricate star-chart illustrations throughout – a present for young and old, which will stay with you long after reading

‘One of those timeless stories that feels like a real myth’ SAMANTHA SHANNON

‘FANTASTIC!’ CARRIE HOPE FLETCHER

‘Absolutely stunning’ CATHERINE DOYLE

‘So beautiful and magical’ PIERS TORDAY

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781910002742

Date published

May 5th, 2016

Lexile measure

HL710L

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.7; Middle years plus; 7.0 points

Other details

  • 240 pages

Condition

New

UK edition

Available in these packs

Reviews

  1. Samantha
    on 30 July 2020

    Spectacular

    This book is amazing. The tale is full of adventure and wonder with a brave girl named Isabella. Her father is a map maker who has ink in their blood. Great book for young adults who love fantasy.

    5 out of 5

Add a review

Customers also bought

What kids think

  1. Catsanddogs
    on 16 June 2022

    This book is really not for me, is depressing in parts and is just hard going and the ending is not great, would not recommend.

    2 out of 5